Visit Back to Mac for the most up-to-date information about returning to campus.
Skip to McMaster Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content
McMaster logo

Graduate Studies

President’s Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision nomination requirements and form

Nomination deadline: October 15, 2021, 4 p.m. ET


The nominee should demonstrate excellent supervisory and mentoring skills.

Winners within the past four years are ineligible for nomination. To see past winners, visit Graduate Student Recognition Awards on the School of Graduate Studies website.


The nomination may be made by an alumni of the graduate program, or a current graduate student at McMaster University.

Nomination Form

This form includes text and multiple choice fields. All fields are required.

Nomination package requirements

The nomination requires six letters of support:

  • Letter of Nomination (250 words) describing the distinguishing attributes of the faculty member’s mentoring and supervision skills.
  • Two letters from current graduate students.
  • One letter from the department chair or graduate advisor.
  • Two letters from McMaster University alumni who have graduated from the program.

Please include the name of the nominee in the file (e.g., Professor_nomination.docx | Professor_Chair.docx | Professor_YourName.docx) and upload to our President’s Award drive.

If the supervisor is not currently supervising two other graduate students, please contact us for more information.

Only the material described above will be considered by the Selection Committee. Do not submit more than six letters, other abstracts or publications unless specifically requested to do so by the Selection Committee.

All materials will be treated as confidential. The Selection Committee consists of the associate deans of the School of Graduate Studies. Nominees may be asked to furnish copies of their CV and a teaching dossier.


All winners and nominees will be acknowledged at the Graduate Recognition Awards Celebration.

Up to six winners will be selected, one from each of the six Faculties:

  • Business
  • Engineering
  • Health Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Science
  • Social Sciences