Visit Back to Mac for the most up-to-date information about returning to campus.
Coming to campus? Use MacCheck to complete your daily screening!
Skip to McMaster Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content
McMaster logo

Graduate Studies

Graduate Council

The Graduate Council is a deliberative, administrative, and executive body responsible directly to Senate but otherwise autonomous. Its membership consists of the Chancellor, the President and Vice-Chancellor, the Provost and Vice-President (Academic), the Associate Vice-President and Dean of Graduate Studies (Chair), the Associate Deans of Graduate Studies, the Faculty Deans, the University Librarian, the University Registrar, the Secretary of Senate, the Vice-President (Research and International Affairs), the Associate Registrar and Graduate Secretary, eighteen faculty members (three from each faculty), and twelve graduate students (two from each faculty).

The responsibilities of the Graduate Council have been specified in some detail by Senate and are outlined in the By-laws of the Senate of McMaster University and the Senate Resolutions (Article X). The more significant ones may be summarized by noting that it regulates matters concerning graduate work of common concern to the entire University, acts upon recommendations concerning graduate work from each Faculty upon matters of particular concern to that Faculty, reports to Senate on graduate matters, recommends candidates for graduate degrees, stipulates conditions for the awarding of graduate scholarships, and stipulates the departments eligible to offer graduate work.

For more information about the governing bodies of McMaster University, please visit the Senate webpage.


Chair: Dr. Doug Welch (deangrad), Vice-Provost & Dean of Graduate Studies

Deputy Chairs

Dr. Khaled Hassanein (hassank), Associate Dean of Graduate Studies & Research (Business)
Dr. Steve Hanna (adeanhsc), Associate Dean of Graduate Studies (Health Sciences)
Dr. Martin Horn (adeangrh), Associate Dean of Graduate Studies & Research (Humanities)
Dr. James Gillett (gillett), Associate Dean of Graduate Studies & Research (Social Sciences)
Dr. Michael Thompson (adeangse), Associate Dean of Graduate Studies (Engineering)
Dr. Bhagwati Gupta (adeangss), Associate Dean of Graduate Studies (Science)

Secretary (without vote):  Stephanie Baschiera (baschie)
Assistant Secretary (without vote):  Christina Bryce (cbryce)

Ex-officio Members

Dr. David Farrar, Acting President & Vice-Chancellor
Ms. Suzanne Labarge, Chancellor
Dr. Susan Tighe, Provost & VP (Academic)
Dr. Karen Mossaman, VP (Research)
Dr. Peter Mascher, VP (International Affairs)
Dr. Leonard Waverman (deanbus), Dean of Business
Dr. Maureen MacDonald (deansci), Dean of Science
Dr. Pamela Swett (deanhum), Dean of Humanities
Dr. Paul O’Byrne (deanfhs), Dean & Vice President (Health Sciences)
Dr. Ishwar Puri (deaneng), Dean of Engineering
Dr. Jerry Hurley (deansoc), Dean of Social Sciences
Dr. Stan Porter, Principal (Divinity College)

Ex-officio Members (without vote)

Andrea Thyret-Kidd, University Secretary
Melissa Pool, University Registrar
Vivian Lewis, University Librarian

Elected Faculty Members


Dr. Clarence Kwan, Finance and Business Economics (2020)
Dr. Lilian Chan, Accounting and Financial Management Services (2021)
Dr. Dean Mountain, Finance and Business Economics (2021)


Dr. Joey Kish, Materials Science & Engineering (2021)
Dr. Ian Bruce, Electrical and Computer Engineering (2020)
Dr. Sarah Dickson, Civil Engineering (2022)

Health Sciences:     

Dr. Sandeep Raha, Pediatrics (2020)
Dr. Judy West-Mays, Medical Sciences (2022)
Dr. Lehana Thabane, Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics (2022)


Dr. Spencer Pope, Classics (2020)
Dr. Magda Stroinska, Linguistics and Languages (2022)
Dr. Sara Bannerman, Communication Studies and Multimedia (2021)


Dr. Judith Shedden, Psychology, Neuroscience and Behaviour (2021)
Dr. Fiona McNeill, Physics & Astronomy (2020)
Dr. Jiaping Xu, Biology (2022)

Social Sciences:  

Dr. Netina Tan, Political Science (2022)
Dr. Neil McLaughlin, Sociology (2020)
Dr. Marc Andre Letendre, Economics (2021)

Student Representatives

Health Sciences:
Social Science:

Observer (without vote): President, Graduate Students Association

Quorum: One third of the voting members including one-third of the elected faculty members