Latest information and updates about COVID-19 (coronavirus) from McMaster University
Skip to McMaster Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content
McMaster Logo McMaster logo

Graduate Studies

McMaster students teach youth about science, salmon and sustainability

Students stand at the water's edge of a creek as another student speaks while standing in the creek.

More than 100 students gathered at Burlington’s Lowville Park to release salmon into Bronte Creek.
Earlier this month, volunteers from McMaster’s Let’s Talk Science Partnership Program (LTSPP) helped local students release over 200 Atlantic salmon into Bronte Creek as part of an effort to both increase salmon populations in Hamilton waters and get young people involved in science.
The release took place at Burlington’s Lowville Park on May 15, with over 100 students from three different schools in attendance. Volunteers from LTSPP had been visiting the schools since February to teach youth about salmon, sustainability and the environment. With the help of undergraduate and graduate volunteers from McMaster, teachers and students learned how to raise the fish from eggs.
Although the reintroduction project contributes to the rehabilitation of the local environment, ultimately it exists just as much for the students as for the salmon.
“We have a chance to involve kids in science in a real hands-on and meaningful way,” says Allison Sills, associate dean of science at McMaster. “Far too often science in elementary school can be stripped down to the memorization of inconsequential facts and that’s not what science is all about.”
Every year the McMaster group works with youth throughout Hamilton on a number of projects with the goal of inspiring Canada’s next generation of scientists.
Coordinators say the project was a great success as an additional 30 youth were involved this year over last, thanks to a Promo Science grant awarded by the National Science and Engineering Council of Canada. Next year, LTSPP hopes that award funds will allow them to reach 60 more youth than this year.
For more information on the LTSPP, please visittheir website. […]

Read More…

McMaster students receive prestigious Vanier scholarships

Two women and two men stand side by side as they smile at the camera.

(Pictured left to right) Nikol Piskuric, Allison Sekuler, associate vice-president and dean of graduate studies at McMaster University, Vladimir Miskovic and Derek K. Chu.
Eight students from McMaster University have received the prestigious Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships, a new program introduced by the federal government to attract and retain world-class doctoral students and make this country a global leader in higher education research.
Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for Science and Technology made the announcement in Ottawa yesterday.
“The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships Program demonstrates the federal government’s ongoing commitment to attract and support the world’s leading researchers,’ says Peter George, president of McMaster University. “Not only does a program like this recognize the important role graduate work plays in shaping our society, but also provides a valuable tool to train our next generation of researchers.”
“The fact that eight Vanier awards are coming to McMaster speaks to the incredible strength of graduate programs across our campus, and highlights the fact that we are attracting the best and the brightest into those programs,” says Allison Sekuler, associate vice-president and dean of graduate studies at McMaster University. “These students have a real passion for their work, and it shows in everything they do.”
A total of 166 scholarships, valued at $50,000 each, are to be awarded annually for up to three years. Canada’s three federal granting agencies, Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) will administer the program.
Below is a list of winners from McMaster University:
CIHR Winning Recipients:
ï Beata Batorowicz, Department of Rehabilitation Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
ï Derek K. Chu, Department of Pathology & Molecular Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences
ï Suzanne E. Osborne, Department of Biochemistry & Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences
ï Nghi Phan, Department of Medical Physics & Applied Radiation Sciences, Faculty of Science
NSERC Winning Recipients:
ï Vladimir Miskovic, McMaster Integrative Neuroscience & Discovery Graduate Program, Faculties of Science and Health Sciences
ï Nikol Piskuric, Department of Biology, Faculty of Science
SSHRC Winning Recipients:
ï Sandra Josephine Bortolin, Department of Sociology, Faculty of Social Sciences
ï Kate M. Mulligan, Department of Geography & Earth Sciences, Faculties of Science, and Social Sciences […]

Read More…